I have severely underestimated how much time university work would take up this year. It’s been a lot more than in previous years. And we’re now approaching the end of term which means I need to spend even less time reading and more time doing my project which needs to be finished. Uh oh!

However, I finished Inkdeath the other week and you can read my review of it here. I really enjoyed this trilogy and I’m just sad that I never read it when I was younger. Younger me would have loved it and although I do love it as an adult, the books are aimed at younger readers and I’m sure if I could’ve reviewed the books 10 years ago, I would have given them all 5/5.

  • Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
  • Inkspell – Cornelia Funke
  • Inkdeath – Cornelia Funke
  • The Little Friend – Donna Tartt
  • The Blade Itself – Joe Abercrombie
  • Before They Are Hanged – Joe Abercrombie
  • Last Argument of Kings – Joe Abercrombie

I am now halfway through The Little Friend by Donna Tartt. The font is so tiny in this book that it doesn’t feel like I’m making as much progress which is a shame. But I’m really liking it so far which is good. At first, I thought Tartt’s lengthy descriptions of things would get on my nerves but as I found in The Goldfinch, once I get into the story this is no longer a problem for me.

I think I may have to extend the deadline of my challenge a few weeks (which I can do since I made it up, although I don’t particularly want to) but I’ll see what position I’m in by the end of week 11. 🙂

