Rating: 3.5/5

Genre: Fantasy

No. Pages: 543

ISBN: 9781904442219

Meggie is 12 years old and has lived with her father since her mother disappeared when she was just 3. Mo is a bookbinder and they both share a big love for books. But Mo also has the ability to “read” characters out of stories and this skill becomes very desirable for someone who tries to use it to their advantage.

Inkheart is a book that I’ve owned for a very long time but never got round to actually reading for some reason. But I’m glad I finally picked it up. It’s clearly a book written for younger readers but I enjoyed the concept of a story inside a story – a bit like book-ception in a way! I think I would have rated this book higher had I read it when I was a similar age to the protagonist. However, now that I’m older I appreciate more the quotes from other books which are featured at the beginning of each chapter. This book is all about stories and how people love reading so this feels very relevant.

The characters are larger than life and are all very different, each with their own personalities, strengths and weaknesses. Dustfinger is my favourite, despite his flaws and I loved the interaction between all of the characters.

I felt the plot was quite predictable but then again it is written for younger readers so it can’t get too complicated. I didn’t find myself getting frustrated which I thought I might have and I genuinely enjoyed this book. However, it was a bit repetitive with respect to characters being captured and not being captured by the antagonist. The plot is mostly set in one area and I would have liked a bit more variation.

Overall, I’m glad that Cornelia Funke decided to write more about this world in Inkspell and Inkdeath because Inkheart would not have been enough for me. The ending was satisfying but I remained curious about what happened to each of the characters.

Have you read Inkheart? What did you think? 🙂

