I started back at uni on Monday and week 1 is already over. Only 10 more weeks of term to go! This will be my last term before exams and then I will finally graduate with a masters degree in maths.

Doing a masters degree means constantly having a huge work load to get through and I’m hoping to really change how I tackle it. Last term I really struggled and was stressing about everything. But what I missed most was how little I read. For me, reading is a way to relax and a way to escape from all the craziness in the real world. I started off reading a bit before bed but it soon fizzled out because I was studying until late and going to bed exhausted. So it is time for change!

I have given myself the challenge of reading 7 books by the time I finish term on Friday 24th March. These are:

  1. Inkheart – Cornelia Funke
  2. Inkspell – Cornelia Funke
  3. Inkdeath – Cornelia Funke
  4. The Little Friend – Donna Tartt
  5. The Blade Itself – Joe Abercrombie
  6. Before They Are Hanged – Joe Abercrombie
  7. Last Argument of Kings – Joe Abercrombie

That’s just over 1.5 weeks per book which is definitely doable. I’ve already finished Inkheart (review to come soon) which puts me in a good position from now onwards so I have a little bit more time.

My housemate and I have already agreed that at 9:30pm each night we will stop studying and read for an hour and a half before bed instead. This should easily result in getting through about 100 pages per night and then I can read during any other spare time I have (which won’t be much, but I can hope). Forcing myself to stop studying should mean I become more productive throughout the day because I’ll know I won’t be doing any later on – or at least that’s the theory…

I hope to be posting regular updates and reviews so keep an eye out. Wish me luck!

I want to know what you do to give yourself time to read, particularly if you have a very hectic schedule. And how do you manage your time effectively when it comes to work and studying? I think I’m in need of a few tips! 🙂

