In 2016…

I started this blog in August and since then, I have read 17 books.

My favourite books have got to be The Goldfinch by Donna TarttA Brave New World by Aldous Huxley and The Catcher In The Rye by J.D. Salinger (review to come soon). I read other good books but these really resonated with me. But if I had to choose one, then The Catcher In The Rye would win every time.

And my worst read? Well, unfortunately it’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. I desperately wanted to like it but I just didn’t.

DSCN0605

 

…And 2017?

My goal for 2017 is to read 30 books. I don’t want to set my target too high otherwise I’ll get disheartened but I think this is doable, even whilst at university for half the year.

My TBR pile is relatively small at the moment with only 9 books or so on it but this will give me an excuse to go book shopping and who doesn’t like that?

I have a few bookish New Year’s resolutions for 2017:

  • Read The Lord of the Rings. I bought The Hobbit months ago and still haven’t read it, but one day I’ll get round to reading them all.
  • Reread Harry Potter. I am so desperate to relive the magic. I don’t think I’ve read them for at least 4 years although part of me is a little bit worried they’ll have lost their magic…
  • Continue this blog! It’s keeping me reading and that’s all that matters

But in order to achieve this, I really need to make sure I organise my time and my life better whilst at university. My main priorities will be completing my Masters degree and finding a job but this is going to take up a lot of time again if I’m not careful… Wish me luck! 😛

Happy New Year everyone! 🙂

What are your New Year’s resolutions – both bookish and non-bookish? Also, what was your favourite book that you read this year? 🙂

