Rating: 2.5/5

Genre: Dystopia, Science-Fiction

No. Pages: 211

ISBN: 9780006546061

Guy Montag is a fireman whose job is to burn all books which are thought to be the cause of unhappiness. But he is unhappy and questions his own life after meeting a free-thinking teenager named Clarisse.

Overall, I liked the concept and the ideas in it but unfortunately the writing style and characters were a big turn off for me.

However, I did like the incorporation of “The Hound” which is a robotic dog-like creature which helps the firemen. I think that the use of this was good to see the extent of oppression faced in this world.

I liked that this book is about the suppression of knowledge and free-thinking in order to encourage happiness but I wasn’t particularly keen on how it was pulled off. The blurb got me excited but after reading it, I was quite disappointed.

I felt that there was very little characterisation. Montag seems like a very flat character without much personality and I don’t think that he is particularly likeable either. The character I enjoyed reading about the most was Beatty and I felt more like rooting for him as the bad guy rather than Montag who was supposed to be the hero.

Also the writing style was very flowery which put me off. There were so many metaphors and descriptive words all about one particular moment in the plot it seemed a bit unnecessary. It was a little too much and I found myself skim reading the larger sections of description.

Have you read Fahrenheit 451? What did you think of it? 🙂

