Overall rating: 4/5

I would like to point out that I have only read Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen. I am aware that Nix has written more books in the series but I have yet to get round to reading them!

There were a few comments I had about all of the books which I felt deserved an ‘overview’ post rather than repeating myself across multiple book reviews.

Firstly, I love the concept of life and death in this series. I don’t want to talk about it too much here because it’s much better to read about but the basic idea is that the line between Life and Death can blur. Death comes into Life and Life goes into Death. For a set of books which focusses on the dead and partially dead coming back into Life, this is a major thing.

There are 2 types of magic described in the Old Kingdom: Charter magic and Free magic. I didn’t think it was particularly clear about the difference between the 2 or where each came from. I caught on eventually in  but it wasn’t obvious, particularly when trying to work out the history of each.

One thing I love in this series is that there are strong female characters and different roles are distributed equally between men and women. For instance, there are characters of both genders as armed guards. There is a definite sense of gender equality and it was really nice to read about a world, albeit fictional, which does not question it.

Read my reviews of each book in the series here:

Sabriel

Lirael

Abhorsen

Have you read The Old Kingdom series? What did you think of it? 🙂

