Rating: 3.5/5

Genre: Fantasy

No. Pages: 367

ISBN: 0007137311

Sabriel’s father is the current Abhorsen, someone who sends the Dead back into Death, in the Old Kingdom. Having grown up in Ancelstierre, where magic is less prevalent (if at all), Sabriel must find her father when he suddenly goes missing.

This is a reread, having first read Sabriel at least 8 years ago, but it gave me the opportunity to review it. I could remember very little of it but on this second read, I couldn’t get into it as much as I could the first time. I still enjoyed it and there was a lot of action and adventure to but I didn’t think it was amazing.

Sabriel is a strong, female protagonist but I didn’t feel like I got to know her. I liked her but I didn’t feel a connection with her. She seemed a bit distant and I may have enjoyed this book more if this wasn’t the case. The other characters were all likeable too although Touchstone was a tad irritating to begin with. Mogget is a spirit in the form of a white cat and is probably my favourite character in the book. He is cryptic, frustrating and ever scathing.

There’s a minor, fairly predictable romantic subplot which weaves its way through the novel but it did feel quite sudden. There wasn’t enough build-up for it despite knowing full well that those 2 characters would fall for each other.

I really enjoyed the ending and the build-up to it. It was over a bit too quickly but there was plenty of action and risk involved. I had a vague idea as to how part of it might get resolved but this definitely didn’t ruin it for me because I could never have guessed the details and Nix writes this very well.

Have you read Sabriel? What did you think of it? 🙂

