2016-08-20-15.52.48.jpg.jpg

My most recent book purchase: The City & The City by China Miéville.

Inspector Tyador Borlú of the Extreme Crime Squad finds deadly conspiracies beneath a seemingly routine murder. From the decaying Beszel, he joins detective Qussim Dhatt in rich vibrant UI Qoma, and both are enmeshed in a sordid underworld. Rabid nationalists are intent on destroying their neighboring city, and unificationists dream of dissolving the two into one. – Synopsis from Goodreads

I’ve always meant to read more of Miéville’s books after enjoying Un Lun Dun so much (I highly recommend reading Un Lun Dun by the way). He has a limitless imagination with novels often described as ‘weird fiction.’ I’d never read much ‘weird fiction’ and his take on fantasy/sci-fi seems very refreshing to me.

After trying to decide which of his books to try next, I finally settled on The City & The City. It’s different to his other books in the sense that it’s a mystery novel but still contains the weird fantasy elements he’s renowned for.

I can’t wait to read it and see what it’s like – although I’ve got a few other books to read first!

