427378

I remember picking this book out at the library because it looked pretty. I was drawn to the
cover and, if I remember rightly, the pages had deckle edges (which I love).

The story is about vampires, not the romanticised, sparkly vampires which are so popular, but the more zombie-like monsters from Eastern European legend – the original vampire. Set in the snowy forests of 17th Century Transylvania, My Swordhand Is Singing follows Tomas and his son Peter who are woodcutters settling in the village of Chust.

Whilst I read this years ago, I still remember the chills I got from it. It was a bit scary in parts, although I don’t know if I would have the same reaction to it now. The gothic tale of vampires which aren’t anything like the ones in Twilight is quite refreshing.

I’m tempted to go out and buy a copy of this book so that I can reread it, but if I do, I’ll definitely be getting the first edition cover.

