Rating: 4/5

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

No. pages: 481

ISBN: 9780593072493

Everyone’s favourite symbologist, Robert Langdon, wakes up in a hospital in Florence suffering from a head wound and amnesia. He has somehow obtained a strange object he does not remember getting which begins his hunt for the truth of what happened to him.

The main criticism many will have is the formulaic nature of Brown’s novels. In a way, the plot is a fairly predictable treasure hunt featuring lots of literary, art and architectural references set in fascinating cities. In this case, Inferno focusses around Dante’s epic poem, The Divine Comedy, and occasionally it can feel like more of a guide book than a novel.

However, Inferno’s plot is fast-paced with plenty of twists and turns. It combines historical references with modern scientific ideas which I think Dan Brown does quite well as long as you don’t take the plot too seriously. I did feel like I was absorbing a lot of the culture of cities such as Florence and Venice without being there and I don’t often get that from a book which is such a light read.

I would recommend not reading multiple Dan Brown novels in a row, as otherwise the formulaic plot can become a bit grating. However, I did really enjoy Inferno and it was significantly better than The Lost Symbol.

Inferno is released as a film within the next few months and I am really excited for that. I enjoyed the film adaptations of The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, so hopefully the next one won’t disappoint either.

I would also like to make a quick note on how nice the cover of this book is when you take the dust jacket off:

DSCN0579.JPG

